xsistor

Rift Beta updates inc – Patch goes live and RP-PVP servers gone!

In Gaming, MMO, RPG on February 11, 2011 at 6:58 pm

A new update has gone live on the beta servers. It could be that they’re updating the servers for beta testing, but at least it’s nice to see a bit more activity than the usual you’re-not-allowed-to-play.

Rift beta patch update

Rift beta patch live as of the 11th of Feb, 2011

The download is almost 200MB so it probably just has a few bug fixes and maybe that PVP server change.  My download’s finished and applying as we speak. I’d like to at least be able to log into the game and see the offline shards. +1 for activity!

In the meantime, I’ll just pull an Eric Cartman outside the Trion World offices:

Eric: C’mon. C’mon! For the love of God, how much longer?!

Mrs. Cartman: There you are Eric, what are you doing here?

Eric: I’m waiting for the new Nintendo Wii to come out.

Mrs. Cartman: When does it come out?

Eric: Three weeks … c’mon. C’mon!

Mrs. Cartman: It’s time for school.

Eric: No mom! You don’t understand. I’ve been waiting for this thing to come out for months, and now every day time is slowing down. It’s like … waiting for Christmas … times a thousand.

Mrs. Cartman: Eric, you’re just going to have to be patient.

Eric: No! Nooooo!

We are T – (4 days – 1 hour) for the open beta event and I for one can’t wait to give this a proper go over one week of play time. In the meantime I will continue to drum my fingers on my hard wooden desk and try to get some work done.

The new patch allows you to actually log in but you still can’t play, of course. However, I did notice something curious. No RP-PvP server for anglophones.

No Rift English RP-PVP server for EU?!

No Rift English RP-PvP server for EU?!

But there are at least TWO RP-PvP servers for North Americans, and they’re in English of course.

North Americans get RP-PVP servers

North Americans get RP-PvP servers

What the… I could’ve sworn I was playing on an RP-PvP server. Firesand was an RP-PvP server during the last beta and now it is listed as PvE. This could just be the devs messing around with testing. It would sure suck though, if my characters are on PvE servers when beta goes back on, because as we all know, those are just for the pussies.

I guess we’ll have to wait and see. C’monnnnn!

Watch this space for my next few Rift videos which should be out soon!

Leave a Reply

